Failing to find justice

The desire to seek justice is from God, but as imperfect stewards, we seek it out like butchers. You have wronged me an ear, I slice from you an ear. Without perfect knowledge or perfect sovereignty, we add mess to what it means to gather peace for those who need it, here  a little, there a little.

Social justice is the hunger for something divine. I resent those people hid complacently in the cleft of the rock, that say that nothing more can ever happen, that justice can only come from heaven, as they are content to do nothing. We hunger after heaven but who knows enough about God to actually have something good to say? I’m looking for his wildfire and your inactivity has no hope left in it. Without hope, how can we believe and receive from the Lord?

So friends, why do we seek justice without the hand of God? We wait for redemption day like the Son of God hasn’t yet walked among us. We could have this hope. We could have this joy. Even if the joy out-performed our circumstance.

I see many people who pursue justice without God’s intervention, and their justice is like a butcher, here a little, there a little. When will we turn to God, when we continue to cry out his name? Our cries will lead to parched tongues and brokenness without his hand. We are wasting our time without the Lord’s goodness, fruitlessly carving up one another. The Lord needs to be the most involved in this. Give the Lord credit and seek him in your search for justice. Can you on your own move mountains? Then seek the Lord. Our solutions are in recognizing his face, and not his hand only. He wants to lift up a people who will be known as the  children of God as their primary identity, not just “#blessed”. We can do better than this. The Lord is better than this.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

