Embracing the fullness of God

I know I’m not the only one out there struggling to embrace the fullness of God. The scope of his love for those who believe in him. I am convinced that the only thing that separates those in Christ from perfect peace is to receive from God in his measurements.

The things of earth are less appealing to the believer not just because they don’t give life in the same way as the spirit of Christ, but because they are infinitely less than the goodness the Lord wants to give, even we were only brave enough to receive it.

Anybody who actually believes in a God who could love them so fully, so perfectly, so kindly as the love we have passing through Jesus may as well be a narcissist in the eyes of the world. Perfect love. Overwhelming love. So much that your cup runs over. Your net breaks because of the amplitude of this awesome love.

We may be fishers of men, but we are also gathering a harvest of good things that is overwhelming on the worst day, and indescribable on the best. Without knowing who or what or how we are gathering, by the strength of God, we run into the majesty of God. Unlike those who are unwilling to take of this fruit of the spirit and eat, we run into a whole assortment of people to love and times to cherish and ways to serve God as we simply endure. And it’s nuts to think that all we could ever want, need, or imagine, we can find in the Lord. Not as a magical idol or dead statue, but as a talking, breathing, very much alive God who delights in the love of his followers, for no good reason except that he wants to. All other ways are dead compared to the life we have in Christ. Not because of the things we’ve done or empty ideology, but by God continually coming out to meet us and proving that he is in no way dead on a regular, consistent basis.

There is nothing here on earth that cannot be covered by the fullness of Christ. Those who receive in faith bring Heaven to earth. This perfect love, covered and anointed for his holy purpose, can be made known in every person’s life if they are only brazen enough to embrace it. Our God is indecent in how boldly and unashamed he loved us. I can expect and depend on things from God that I would be absolutely nuts to ask for from anyone on earth. But the father’s heart is to love me, to love my children, to love the people I love, and to teach me how to become more like Jesus. Our inward fullness is only the beginning of what is in heaven, stored up for those who love God. Not just by measures of earthly satisfaction, but by divine perfection made only possible through the love of Christ. We store up things in the spirit by showing people who God is, and the Lord in his love for us blesses us, not just now, but forever. Believing in Christ is enough for salvation, but only a fraction of what it means to enjoy the presence of God. In Christ Jesus, we can know what it means to have to lack.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

