Freedom in the word

I’m nearing the end of college in a state of surrender. And it’s a good life that God has set before me, and I’m glad.

I have spent the last six months or so coming to terms with what it means to learn from the Bible. So many Christians misuse or misunderstand the word, and after a while trying to understand whether knowing the scriptures would make me like the people who misuse them, I’ve got peace. I see time and time again how useful God’s word is. How it is able to achieve things that I personally cannot. My words are not so strong. I just find peace in him.

All it has really taken for me to start becoming a good teacher is to trust God and what he says in scripture. As over the top as that might sound to a new believer, I am amazed by how his word informs the spiritual seasons and tides I pick up on. I’m shocked that God can teach me so much about who he is through the Bible. I always assumed that the people who were using scripture badly were the only type of people who really relied on the Bible. I didn’t know how much was freely able to those who love God.

Honestly, I’m relieved. I don’t feel as much pressure to make sure I’m on the right path, because the word of God helps me discern more and more the more often I’m in it. My discernment is fairly present in the first place, but God’s word helps me understand when I’m not going off on a limb and helps me phrase my understanding once I know I’m not. He gives me tact for how to deal with a variety of situations, and I get the feeling that being in scripture more helps keep fresh the image of grace. As a matter of practical utility, reading your Bible helps you have a lighter burden, and let go of some of the impetus to prove things as good or bad. Without being immersed in God’s living word, it’s a lot easier to miss the point or pay homage to arbitrary cultural idols of morality that entirely miss the free grace in scripture. I am fully aware of how humanity falls short as I read, and also fully convinced that we are freely forgiven if we are only brave enough to accept that healing. I know that the world doesn’t assume that peace of mind and prosperity could be so easy, but allowing yourself to rest in the character of Jesus is legitimately peace. I have a framework to make sense of spiritual understanding, as it comes. I don’t have to be a little kid anymore, trying to make sense of everything on my own.

I believe that the Lord desires his children to know him, in order to be good teachers. As I transition into this next season of life and starting new adventures, I’m actually excited to get more into the word. I feel like the more I know, the more valuable teachings I have to pass on to my children. I feel equipped in a way I never even realized I needed.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

