Practical purposes of forgiveness

The only good reason to move on from my past,

Is so that if there is ever a day where you come up to me and say something random,

I will have forgiveness waiting for you (and everyone else) instead of bitterness,

And kindness instead of anger,

And compassion, instead of hating your guts.

We are all just children of God, trying to do our best in an already fallen world,

And if I make myself bloody, I forget that.

I will not beat myself up over this. I did the right thing. I’m not who I was then.

The radical challenge is to abandon my “right” to holding a grudge,

To forgive myself like God forgives humanity,

To bring joy out of sadness,

And just leave it up to God.

My commitment: That I will live in such a way that it’s easier to forgive than to remain angry. There is too much anger already in the world, and I cant bear that poison.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

