We are meant to obey out of love

If God loved only those who were perfect, he would love only himself. If God asks us to forgive and be forgiven, he is doing it in order that we understand some vital truths about himself, and what it means for us to receive forgiveness. The entire purpose we are called to do the Lord’s will other than that it’s holy is that we learn about God in the process and continue exploring the depths of his love for us. If you don’t obey what he asks in faith, you are blind to knowing how much he loves you, or learning about him more over time.

This is about the love of God, not being personally right about what he says. Self-righteousness be damned. If you care about being the best so much more than loving your neighbor and still being invested when it’s inconvenient, you will learn to be the best at being the worst.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

