Thought 11/20

If you pray for someone and then it just so happens that you are presented an opportunity to minister to them, that is by no means an accident. I don’t mean busting out your bible and going to town despite the desire of your audience, but being kind and supportive (like Jesus). I believe in telling people about Jesus, but more often than not, it is more helpful and mainstream to demonstrate Jesus. We need comfort when loved ones are sick, we need to laugh when we feel like we’ve messed up, we need someone to listen when life feels over the top, we need someone to just generally stay and act as consistent. More often than not, if you genuinely care for a person (regardless of how personally close they are to you) and you keep your eyes on God as you lift them up in prayer, things work out in such a way where you can be helpful. Ultimately, we are called to represent Christ even when people don’t accept what we believe (or legitimately attack it). Even if a friend or acquaintance never comes to a saving knowledge of Christ, my job is to love them. You don’t have to worry about insider-outsider politics and whether or not they are “saved” enough for you to talk to them. You can just care for them genuinely and let love be that.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

