When people come but we don’t listen

Does the Devil sweep away people new to Christianity from Christ when churches expect salvation to make you perfect instead of that you will be always a work in progress? When people with a true heart come to Jesus, are they getting the best of us, or the worst? Do we expect them to hide their brokenness in the one place that might save it? For as much as people within the church would like to complain, we are just as much at fault for spreading false doctrine when we exclude people from sharing their real life experiences with God and desiring after his heart than if we were to utter blasphemy against him when what we do is not in his name. If people turn away from Christ because we have made just another building where they cannot be genuine and receive loving instruction that isn’t envious or backbiting of true faith, why do we even keep coming? What is the point of church if you cant listen compassionately and take it from there, instead of people expecting to put on their best lies every Sunday? If you aren’t actually listening, why do you expect anyone to be coming?

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

2 thoughts on “When people come but we don’t listen”

  1. It’s awful that church gets to that point. I constantly, have to remind myself that church has never been what we expect or want it to be. It was a mess from the beginning, full of sinful human beings. I think of it as being part of a big, dysfunctional family where I have to learn to love people I don’t like very much and often, have nothing but faith in Jesus in common. I have probably grown more as a person from my experiences in church than almost any other experience.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think there is a lot of truth in what you just wrote. Let us all hold tight to the grace of God together, and try to protect our hearts from becoming too “wise” for God! Thank you for contributing!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

