God bailing out the hypocrites

How many times does God bail us out from our problems? From the God who spoke through Christ, telling us to forgive one another not just seven, but seventy-seven times (ergo, as many times as it takes), if God didn’t always have fresh mercy, we’d be screwed. I was praying this morning about how to address a particular sin that I keep seeing, and the lies that some people continue to tell themselves. Having been a practicing sinner of this sin almost two years ago, and having the same inheritance of damnation as everyone else, how easy it has become to condemn the people that I could have once been mistaken for. And it’s ridiculous, because even though I do not sin in that way much longer, sin has a way of transforming itself and I am just as much guilty now as I was then, the only difference is that when I judge, there is a glaring sense of hypocrisy instead of just passing it off as something else. I was just like them. And yet, my striving heart tries to be superior.

Maybe the best route in these moments is to just remember my own guilt and pray for specific people, relying on God’s power to save. His saving grace is continuous, and he continues to save me years after I began really believing in him just as he can heal them now. What kind of God would be so merciful as to rescue us first from eternity, and then bail us out every single time we asked for it from that point forward? Generosity could be a spiritual gift for that fact alone.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

