Mindset for today: Remember what is important

Today, I will be content with what God has already done in my life instead of keeping a ledger of what I think he has left to do. When the days blend together and this is just another Wednesday, I remember that I am serving the King. He has ultimate power, and he has me in this place just as much for me as for others. I may not be thrilled to start my day, but that has more to do with not wanting to wake my mom up and listening to worship tunes a little later in the morning (which remind me of what is important). If I remember what I have to be proud of, I remember God. In this place where I could easily be bored and sometimes feel is pointless, it is not about who I am.

The healing of God is unlike anything else, and I am grateful that in Christ, I remain connected to the source of my healing. You see glimpses of God’s character in other world religions here and there, but without Christ as the focal piece, the same healing of the Holy Spirit isn’t sustained. You have these grand life decisions and people trying to do things just as alone as they were before, but I know my God helps me. His love is a river of life that you can’t get anywhere else. What do I really have to complain about? At least I’m not where I started.

Everything is as sand passing through my hands anyways. It is not my job, or my school, or my friends, or my family, or my interests, or me as a person that makes my life interesting and meaningful. Only in God do I have enough.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

