Sins by Major (college)

I made a list! After being in college for four years, these are my go to cynicisms, even if I think there’s a kernel of truth there. Part of this is stereotypes, but part of it is the genuine intentions of people I go to school with. Even if it’s not wholly true, it’s something to think about.

Sins by Major

  • Business: Serving the wrong Master ($)
  • Education: Do you really know what it means to be taught? (self-discipline)
  • Social Welfare: Feeling like you have to bear all of the world’s burdens alone
  • Psychology: Believing that you can be mankind’s fixers, and creating solution after solution regardless of the cure
  • English: Writing about problems vs. addressing problems
  • Drama: Repeating the same cycles over and over again as a continuous performance
  • Engineering: “My brain is what validates me”
  • Pre-Med: “One day I’ll be good enough!”
  • The Humanities (as a blob): No one would understand me
  • “_______” Studies: I have the solution, and this specific group of people is to blame
  • EVERYONE: Follow the plan, and everything will be okay

Within each person, there are specific sins that we must individually address for the things that we love to really have meaning for us. Even if I love studying people (I study Psychology), I don’t like what this field has come to mean. With psychology roughly translating to “the study of the soul” (psyche + ology), you don’t see much of a focus on the divine within what we study. Truth be told, I don’t know any other college major that sets you up so well to address spiritual sickness, which is one of the most ironic twists of this degree that I can think of, considering how most people think we’re using it (Let me crack open your skull and examine spoonful after spoonful of your brains”, or anything related to psychoanalysis and Freud). For me, coming to terms with the sin embedded inside my major has meant remembering who is in control and allowing God to be the one who is right instead of myself. I don’t have the solution y’all, but God does. The questions is whether I will let that be enough for me.

What do you think? For those of you who have attended college, what sins do you think are associated with your major?

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

