Thought 10/14

When you notice patterns in yourself, for better or worse, they lead to bigger and more all-encompassing patterns. For example, this week, I’m noticing that I have a pattern of needing to test others before I trust them. While you could call this discernment when it’s positive, you could call it stubbornness and the need to be absolutely certain when it backfires, and life just doesn’t work like that.

So what about you? Do you have any inconvenient patterns that you’ve ever noticed, or could be noticing? Quilting your flaws together can lead to bigger results, even if it’s just a deeper realization of why you need to invest in forgiveness. For those who are under grace, weakness isn’t the end but the beginning. Embracing criticism when God can heal you is like gutting a fish, but it turns out okay in the end. Fear is a godawful mess no matter whether we stand to acknowledge it, so it’s better to stand with a God who cares about you and is willing to help you through it.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

