Perfectionism (which belongs to God only)

Sitting here in a moment of peace, contemplating how much better God would be than me at just about anything I do. Having noticed the desire for perfectionism in myself years ago, it seems like a no brainer to consider what it would be like if God were to do anything that I  fail to do. Perfectionism on behalf of mankind is a shifting target because if we’re being honest, God would solve many of our problems a lot more directly than we might even think of. I am not him, but if I had to guess, I bet you he’d solve them at their source.

There is nothing I do that I can truly be best at. I can’t be the best at working, or school, or writing, or anything that I create. I can do my best. But “the best” is reserved for a spot that only God can occupy, and I’m predisposed to believe that the one who moves mountains would be better than me at any one of those things. So often when we as mankind try to imagine “the best”, we resign it to our spheres of influence or at least humanity as a whole. Unfortunately, limiting goodness to just what we can provide doesn’t work out for us very well.

We as humans should try our best, genuinely and steadfastly support one another, provide for one another, and be as life-giving as possible. And yet, the impetus for salvation does not rest on humanity. We are sharers of good news, and it is not by our abilities that it has been called into existence. We can maintain under the same spirit of love and goodness as Christ, but only being connected to the root. We make the world’s best continuously-emptying buckets, but not even that could restrict God in his grace. It’s just strange to think about how worrying about being “the best” is directly stepping on divine territory.

In this life, we never need to be the best. Given that we all live and die in or inside of roughly 100 years, the best thing we can be doing with our time is enjoying it in a spirit of love while it lasts, and storing love up for an eternal future. Have you ever noticed how backwards it is that Christ’s apostles didn’t want to be seen with him, yet those he healed knew for certain that the only way they could measure up in any way was if he was seen with them? Instead of our worldly status and striving to prove ourselves, true blessedness is being included in the same company as God, especially when most of the world would despise him. Ironically, we are the ones who need to be saved. Distracting oneself into the world doesn’t really diminish from that.

How downright refreshing is it that the people who most needed Christ were most able to see him (and still are)? Like Mark 2:7, Christ came for sinners instead of the righteous, and by that same statement, it can be understood that those who receive must be made to understand that they are sinners. Without being imperfect, we have no need for the healing and fullness of God. The enemy is the notion that whether you have too little (selfishness) or too much (arrogance), it is fine and acceptable to use what you have to take away from others. Christ never did that. He came to the earth and in everything he did, he gave. Not just “giving” in a way that was for selfishness or for the sake of proving himself, but because he knew his mission and cut to the chase. His purpose was focused on the people he loved and not with making a worldly name for himself. His clear-cut priorities provided the path for all to be saved. By his grace, we don’t have to be everything.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

2 thoughts on “Perfectionism (which belongs to God only)”

Leave a Reply

