Thought Bundle 10/3

  • What if not wanting to leave my hometown is something I should actually take into consideration?
  • When I simply do what I must do rather than putting myself through the ringer, I save so much time. Whether it’s eating quickly and briefly, just doing my homework, doing my laundry or dishes when I have to, or whatever else, I save so much time simply getting things finished. I know that it is easier said than done, but this is one of those “woah” practicality moments I’ve had through faith. The other was realizing that I could save just as much time (if not a little more, even) by prioritizing what was absolutely important. Having a well-ordered life that is as equally disciplined as it is balanced is probably the most genuine key to productivity I could find, and it’s funny because it runs opposite to procrastination, which is ego-driven at best and a god awful waste of your resources at worst. I did not expect to encounter that finding anytime soon, but hey, it’s here.
  • When I pick up my bible, I’ve noticed an increased sense of awareness lately that what I am touching or reading is holy. It’s like the air was sucked out of a room. Maybe it’s the listening, which has grown bigger in my life due to faith, and maybe it’s because I should be reading more. For whatever reason, I feel the awe now.
  • On that note, if I am actually going to be finding the answers to the questions I’ve been inevitably seeking, I need to be reading my bible more. That is my source of truth. It speaks to me just like any other person could, but even more amplified. The common places God uses to call us to attention aren’t mere coincidence, it’s his help reaching out towards us. I need to be reading more so I will be able to understand what that means.
  • I generally have less to talk about with my friends who do not believe in Christ. It’s not that I necessarily wanted that to happen, but when we’re having conversations, most of my knowledge and in-depth searching routes back inevitably to faith, and there are only so many times were you can do a bad job at remembering a proverb before you start to get on people’s nerves (without faith). My Christian friends are so much easier to share with when that happens (well, duh). I don’t really want those friendships to fall away, but they are gradually becoming less prioritized. I still bring up what I believe, but it just makes me wonder how long any of that will be able to last before people distance like they often do when they don’t want to hear much more of it. So be it. I’m not going to change.
  • There is a lie that the enemy uses against young adults that states that maturity is a bad thing, and will make you ostracized in all your social circles. Apart from being a lie that is designed to keep you isolated in the dark, this lie often keeps you isolated from older and wiser adults in your life that can generally offer good teaching. Being more like the people I know who are good leaders and also happen to be older than me is not an insult or something to be afraid of. In the moments where my faith makes me seem out of touch, I am reminded by what a powerful example my elders have been able to set for me out of a love that does not fade, and persists through the steadfastness of age. That’s kind of cool, and by no means something to be ashamed of.
  • You can see the endings of relationships coming before they come. It’s still okay to love our friends for who they are today than what may end up happening tomorrow. God is still good.
Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

