The Old passes away and the Mercy in Christ

Time is slipping through our fingers, anymore. Graduating soon but it’s not soon, and I’m already doing interviews. I felt guilty the other day for not missing my friends very much. Yes, I love them. But I suspect I will love a great many people if God gives me the chance and I’m able to live long enough. Seasons are passing through my fingers at the same rate as sand, and it’s abstract and in no way awkward to acknowledge how quickly life as I know it is passing away. As in Ecclesiastes, all things come to an end. Whether we cling too tightly to perfect bodies, perfect health, perfect understanding, a perfect future, we are all ultimately dying. My faith will not pass away. That is one thing I can write for certain.

Should we cling to the friends that are drifting away progressively further? In this life, we make choices about how to react, we do not often decide what troubles will come upon us. I will not cling tightly to my youth. I will not cling tightly to my skill sets. I will not cling tightly to my friends. The gospel has changed my perspective and my friend circle so dramatically since a year and a half ago, when I really began to take Jesus more seriously. To say that many have already passed away would be an understatement. Still, why not let them go? A good pastor doesn’t force his/her members to show up, but their members show up without coercion. Why would we expect anything else from love?

I want to be less angry in the time I have left to live, and more able to come quickly to forgiveness. I read an article today that really emphasized how gentle Jesus was, and how his flipping tables in that temple was a one time thing. The more I examine the life of Jesus, the more I learn about how he loved, and most of all, his mercy. Tomes of study can yet be devoted to the depth of that man’s mercy unto others. With a world that seems so hostile, the tenderness in Christ is something that astounds me.

There is a difference between sin and the sin response. Sin repays evil for evil and good for evil, while love through Christ gives both good for evil and good for good, as it multiplies. At no point as Christian’s are we called to repay evil with evil. What could be a stronger weapon that Christ’s mercy? Out of mercy, we have grace.

Even if I’ve always felt old on the inside, that doesn’t mean I’ve actually understood all of what I see around me. You can feel weary and worn and have no idea of how to tackle those burdens. Examining Christ’s mercy refreshes me in a way not even worship can reach. His emblem of love and patience in every word he speaks, his love is the easiest way for me to recognize the mark of God.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

