Does Jesus really care about what we thinks he cares about? (Our earthly checklist)

Finding out that I care less and less about performance Christianity and proving myself. I don’t distance as much as I used to from the things of the world, because I know they will not ruin or shake my faith. There is no weakness here in Christ, and my faith remains. Watching dumb movies with my dogs on a Saturday night doesn’t mean I’m gonna be damned; who even is on the subcommittee to discern what all members of the Body of Christ are supposed to freak out about? That is a legitimate question. If we are using mundane markers and not really looking for the things of God, we are ostriches with our heads in the sand and not living out the fruits of salvation. I’m not saying that sin should be tolerated, but maybe the panic and condemn response to sin isn’t something that is working. There is freedom here in Christ. Faith isn’t as simple as a checklist. Is it fair to assume that we individually know what is and is not righteousness? If a movie has 90% quality content and 10% is worthy of objection, does that 10% define us as unworthy when it’s a quality movie and it was never our worthiness to begin with? Because still, you and I are still living with a fair amount of unrighteousness. Avoiding “evil” does nothing to surrender the evil that is more overwhelmingly inside each of our hearts. You can’t just blame evil on the world, we all participate in it. Does Jesus really care about watching a questionable movie?

If anyone has an opinion on this, feel free to share it because I will not pretend that I know. What I do know is that evil mostly comes from inside and no one is righteous on their own behalf. Does it matter if you see something tempting but it doesn’t tempt you, because atleast in that moment, your faith is strong? Feel free to share, including any differences in point of view.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

