Membership matters

Thinking critically about what I most like about my church, among the various things that come to mind is the diversity and unique experiences we have had with God. There are quite a few many people who never grew up in church, which I believe is ultimately good. Our church is not a place of prooving oneself. For the most part, nobody acts as though they believe you have to disconnect with non-churched people’s daily realities and struggles to connect with God. Instead, we lean into those broken places, trusting that God will accompany us into them. Because he’s good.

The atmosphere of our church is shown by how many people didn’t always attend church. As a member, I get the sense that my church is family, and that our people want to be there. Next week will be Velocity Church’s four year anniversary, and we are including baptisms as part of the message to celebrate. It gives me joy to know that we are a place that gives life, and as of yet, I have never seen anyone else who attends there being seriously judged. I feel like I have a place I can pay into.

Working with the kids ministry, I hope that these kiddos have the benefit of having a diverse church body who can tell them why it’s important to listen to God and respect their parents from experience. I was a kid that always wanted to know why, and I think it’s important to respect that curiosity in others. I want them to have a place where they can be respected for what they contribute, even as kids. I want us to be a place that strengthens one another.

When they see their parents happily participating in our church, it makes me happy because that is a sense of security I’d like to create for my own family, in it’s season. Having a place to belong is an understanding that money can’t buy. I’m happy that we can work together to form a stronger family, and one that I am fully able to contribute to, as a woman. Someday I want to be in a full time ministry position, but not yet. Still, it’s nice to think that churches can have both genders in leadership because that just feels like a more intimate, supported familial structure. With as many women who invest in their faith and have a passion for Christ, why wouldn’t you want that?

Anyways, it’s been a lovely day filled with familiar faces and the understanding that God accepts us as we are. Hoping that you are able to find some rest and peace in the wholeness of God today, whose love is eternal.

God bless,

Haley

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

