All the oil/Glory

In John 12:1-11, does Mary the sister of Lazarus annoint Christ’s head because she seeks to give him glory, especially in that he will die? Annointing Christ is the same spirit by which she sat at his feet to hear his teachings, while her sister Martha was serving. Clearly, this is an act of firstfruits. Her example of giving God all of the glory by annointing Christ before his death is symbolic of the attitude of worship that should issue forth before God in our lives. Even though it was expensive ointment, she gave all of the glory to God, completely the opposite of Judas who sold him out. The remarkable thing about this act of love unto Christ is that Mary does it with her full heart and little to no hesistation. She recognizes a good thing, and she follows. She desires no holding back, and it is a blessing to her and those she is serving in the Kingdom of Heaven.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

