The Promises of God are sound

As people grow, a certain amount of who they are seems to shift. From the moment you come into the world until the day that you leave, we are all evolving creatures that have new or continuous needs, all of which can be met, under grace. Thinking about people’s lives as a composite of past preferences, believes, and all that came out of them reveals a decent amount of artistry on behalf of the Creator. The way he weaves similarities and differences is immaculate. God is faithful, even as he makes room for the new.

Thinking critically about how we change over time allows us to realize how shortsighted we can bee Beliefs I may not have held yesterday I now hold today, and vice versa. If God gave up on me, I would not have grown into the person I have become, I wouldn’t be able to seek his mercy tomorrow, and all the words that could be spoken of me wouldn’t even make it into speech. We all would be utterly erased like an intense hangover. All of humanity like the morning after. After all, we’ve all screwed up enough to shame God. The depth of God’s love for us and how any of us would feel if we were forced into his place is seen in the body and blood of Jesus, yet so many of us (myself included) subconsciously yearn to be made more like him in order to take his place. We seek the same authority of God without his sanctification, and we seek becoming like him without an understanding of all that it cost him to become like us. If we are truly to be unified with the body and blood of God, then we have to understand God’s authority and willing sacrifice. Apart from that, none of it will be worth it.

I know that we are all naturally filled with a default setting of envy and self-centeredness, and to a certain extent, those traits can be amusing in children. However, there comes a point where no amount of fighting will save us, and we must again turn to God for comfort, for healing, for resolution, and for a love that abides. We will be swept away by our weakness if we do not turn to him. Like the backward glance that became a pillar of salt, the doubt is what makes us forget who is in charge, and who we must appeal to. It’s not each other. If God accepts and approves of all of us BY FAITH, without Christ, it’s not any of us.

We are brothers and sisters by faith. I don’t care if you disagree with me. If you believe that Christ is the risen Lord who is fully capable of removing your sin and doing the same for others, and you love in a way that bears the fruit of that, we could be 360 degrees opposite in our beliefs and God would still accept you equally. We don’t justify our opinions to God as a means of acceptance, but by the truth and the weakness we acknowledge, we receive grace. God doesn’t need to know what we think. He accepted and disapproved of humans over various other issues throughout all of time, but his love remains the same. The dependence we crave and find fulfillment in him remains the same. We are still at the core human beings. Which means by that same token that we were created to worship, and apart from who God is, nothing else really matters.

If God approves of my past, then I know he will forgive me through the mistakes in my future. I know that he will be my righteousness if I have any at all. I know that he abides. I know that he endures. I know that he will bear all things, and by him all things are accomplished (and nothing without him, either). I know that sanctifying love is tethered to who he is, and is unwavering. I know that my salvation is secure if I hope in him. I know that I don’t have to be more than I am to be loved for who he is. God knows all that I’ve been wrong about, and he’s forgiven me before. His forgiveness is the mark that I don’t have to be right, I don’t have to understand, I don’t have to have very specified truths to say, but I can still rely on him and abide from his joy, not mine. If he abides until the end of the age, he will abide for me during all this. And because there is no partiality before him, he loves you just the same.

If God didn’t destroy us over the past, his promises will endure into the future. In his mercy, he will forgive. That is such a fundamental part of who he is that no one could have imagined without Christ Jesus. As the firstborn, as a leader, as a teacher, a fisherman, and a brother to many, Christ was the symbolic and true son of God. If he is foremost, then he can lead the way for the rest of us. By his justice, we understand the world in a way that is comparatively contrary to all that isn’t holy. By Christ, we have the truth.

God knows our scope, because he created our abilities and limitations himself. Let us use this time of uncertainty to truly seek him, knowing by his word and promise that his will is already good. We do not need to justify him, but we know his is good by trusting in him. By him all things are possible. We know that by how he forgives.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

