Please don’t silence the anger; we need that.

Oh God, not one among us is very much like you. Please have mercy upon us, God. Please, Father. Not one person among us could deserve it.

I see pain in these debates about gay marriage, and I’m reminded of where I’ve been, how I have felt, and I know that I cannot bear to be in the seat of judgment. Like Peter fleeing before Christ (Luke 5:8) due to his sin, my heart was and still is full of sin.

I see all of us more insistent in our own ways than willing to worship. I see partiality, at least in my heart. I see large national discussions that are made into a lynching block. I see the murder of the innocent in the name of religion, no respect for American history that spilled innocent blood first and continues to do so. How can we discredit the Black Lives Matter movement without first acknowledging racial discrimination, violence, death, and hate crimes that Christians have done and still do on behalf of “the Church”? How can we villify LGBTQIA-identified and not remember how many people have been abused, bullied, murdered, or continually persecuted by the church specifically, whether they view their own hearts as sinful or not? How can we ignore church membership in the KKK? How can we skip forward into civility without first acknowledging all that we’ve lost? Please allow people the right to mourn what has been taken under the false image of Jesus, for the love of God. On a separate stage, we can talk about what it means and will take to rebuild, but for now, allow people to have their humanity acknowledged. We’ve taken so much else.

Why can’t black people have the right to be angry? Why is it wrong to be angry if you’re black, or gay, or anyone for that matter? I recognize that some anger consumes without purpose, but some anger is purifying. Can we all allow that pain to just be a reality, instead of trying to argue or justify it out of existence? God justifies. We are called to listen, support, and build a stronger family for all people. Why do we rush to explore our own anger and then deny it to others? Like a conversation silenced at the dinner table, how can we violently get ours and then shut down anyone else’s feelings? We can use hypocrisy as a space to repent. How can we bear to leave all this pain in silence?

Maybe repentance is what we are seeking when we explore what it means to be “politically correct.” Maybe it’s the Spirit of sharing and caring for those who have less. Maybe it’s the hope to make things more just and more fair as a whole. Maybe it’s not exclusively such a bad thing. We will only know if we work together, and only there will we be able to decide.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

