“We’re not really friends anymore”.

If I tied a string,

Around your finger,

And I dragged you with me until it broke,

And just kept pulling;

Past where I move away and you move somewhere else,

Past conversations that are in name only,

Past the how that we talk only in biannual passing,

Past all the distance and differences that have already come between us;

If I tied a string around your finger, and just waited to see how long it to snap,

Would either of us really lie when we acknowledge we’ve already forgotten?

It won’t take any more miles.

It won’t require the passage of any more time.

We don’t speak. Life has pushed us on.

And although part of me really misses you, we can’t slow down, can we?

And even with a heart that’s somewhat hurting,

I will have to walk in a different direction.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

