My Faith is better than your Significant Other

My Faith is better than your Significant Other,

Because I have to prove nothing;

I can allow God to work on my behalf,

And except by living in praise,

He requires nothing from me.

My Faith is better than your Significant Other,

because it is the way in which I find peace,

In which I can trust that God is working on my behalf,

And I have conviction of his goodness,

Because I don’t rely on any other person to see him and know his grace

As I’m walking it out.

My Faith is better than your Significant Other,

Because I’m not afraid of other people’s brokenness,

Nearly as much as my own,

And the screwed up things that might come out of my mouth,

Once I’m really hurting.

My Faith is better than your Significant Other,

Because there is never any bickering there that doesn’t lead to resolution,

It never drags me down,

It drags me through the mud,

But only in order to carry me.

My Faith is better than your Significant Other,

Because I don’t have to act right,

And I don’t have to pray right,

And I don’t have to talk right,

And apart from my faith, righteousness doesn’t come to me.

My Faith is better than your Significant Other,

Because you guys, we’ve all got to start from somewhere,

And I want more for my children than a half-ass job and not building love from scratch,

And I can’t bear the thought of doing it all alone,

When the world fails me,

And my friends fail me,

And my family fails me,

Along with my Significant Other.

No, because really,

My Faith is better than your Significant Other,

Because it’s just not that season yet,

And good things will come when they come,

And my Faith is always abiding,

And I don’t have to pretend that it’s perfect,

And I have wholeness as the building block to start with,

And because it’s enough, I’m happy.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

