Small thought 8/25 (sadness)

It feels really weird that there were many people caught up in the Ashley Madison website hacking like Josh Duggar who were famous for supporting biblical views on marriage as between a man and a woman, and yet looked outside of their marriage to find satisfaction intentionally.

It feels like an intentional thing on God’s part, although who am I to say? I believe scripture remains the same, but it’s ironic that many people who are currently being exposed as hypocrites have mocked and disrespected gay people for years for sexual sin are now experiencing the weight of that shame and ostracism themselves. It is painful to watch standing by.

We rush to forgive these adulterers of their sin and brush this scandal under the rug, but do we rush to welcome people on the LGBTQIA spectrum into our churches? That is some nonsense if we want to classify those separately. Like, what? Do you really mean to tell me one person’s sexual sin can be forgiven, and another person has to be shunned because they are the kind of imperfect you don’t want? I can’t imagine that Jesus would be one to keep his love from people who aren’t your idea of “forgive-able”. Are we rushing to save these marriages because they have men and women instead of un-biblically defined unions? It feels like one of those times where we are rushing to cover up wounds that really need to be talked about, in a broader social sense. How can we sell our marriages as holy on the outside, condemn others, and not expect to be found wanting on the inside? The idea of us being the cup bearers of eternal judgment is haunting us through this.

If love isn’t healthy, if it isn’t kind, if it isn’t sacrificial, if it isn’t pure, if it isn’t honest, it isn’t like God. Our love can be purified, but do we offer it up? I don’t know firsthand what marriage is, because I haven’t experienced it. But I am very sad when I think about how drastically we have gone as the body of Christ to be apart from the world than live in it and it’s flaws. What if this scandal was meant to humble us for a reason?

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

