How honestly God loves us

Spending my Saturday thinking about how what we love most about God is a meaningful symbol of our relationships with him.

In each person, God endows various gifts. Having recieved and recognized his Holy Spirit by name and foundation allows a person to know him more fully. With that being said, we each have various aspects of God’s character that draw us closer to him and inherently make sense to us. On the flip side, there are parts of who God is that we all struggle with, and they vary by person, especially in a steadfast Christian community.

One of my favorite qualities if God is how honest he is with us. We are told that if we seek him with steadfast hearts, he will not hide himself from us (Matthew 7:7-12). God exists to make hidden places known and holy, not to begrudge us our existence.  Think about the mercy he has extended us, since the Garden, Noah, Abraham, Jacob David, Daniel, and Peter. Those are only a few names of all the men and women who have come to reconciliation and justice with God. Having been justified, he shed his mercy upon mankind’s broken spirit.

Some parts of Gods plan have been sealed up until the right time that he would reveal them, but his nature is consistently good throughout all of time. He invites us to take shelter in the truth. Of all things to lift up, he chose the truth and set it in the hearts of men so that we could know him and have comfort in the works of his hands. He never lies to us, but abides with us until those days in which we can see him clearly. The honest truth when no one deserves it is such a powerful sign of mercy. I am grateful that I am allowed to love what is right instead of what is evil, and I know that if God would have withheld his mercy, I could never know the truth that I delight in.

I am grateful that he made his Spirit to show us what steadfast and genuine love looks like, and compels us out of ourselves to praise him, allowing no evil to befall us. How he can sustain by his will and word alone is beyond me, but every kernel of who he is is woven purely out of the truth, inviting us in to what is beauty. I love how he makes himself and his children beautiful in order to show who he is, instead of breaking us into further pieces,  to gain any more ground on us. He doesn’t need to, and he can love out of abundance instead of depravity, which is what makes the Devil an enemy to him. Like oil and water, fear is cast out.

I am grateful that he who made justice is faithful to carry it out. I’m grateful for the pure simplicity that genuine love is named by, and that surrender instead of self righteousness is how we learn to recognize it. I’m glad that his mercy always comes with his love, and that his love cannot be separated from it. All that Christ did was an act of mercy; his very self was for our sake. He spoke clearly as others could bear, but he taught in his father’s same steadfastness and upright spirit. I am grateful how God used his life as a sacrifice. I know when I look at Christ’s sacrificial death that God would cut off part of himself for those who would not otherwise be able to love him. For our good, it is beautiful to see and acknowledge that he has done these things.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

