This coming semester

While I was in China, I spent a little more time thinking about what I want from my final year of college, and I’ve made some choices.

The first is that I want to enjoy my classes, and have time for them. I will be taking 15 hours, and I want to budget in atleast 10 hours for homework (studying is extra). My classes are spaced evenly only throughout Tuesday and Thursday, which really helps. I will probably be working part time around 15 hours, and want to devote at least 10 hours to church, the campus gospel choir I sing in, and other ministry related ways to serve. With a decent amount of sleep a night, I hope to make myself work out. All in all, it would be a 50 hour week, in addition to time spent exclusively with friends. To be honest, that suits me just fine. I am excited to work on self discipline and learn to take even better care of my body and my health. I am excited to be able to do homework at my house too, which will give me some flexibility.

To me, there is a certain beauty in  well scheduled life; one that leaves time for interruption without being destroyed. I know that kids and a family will eat my lunch once those start looming closer, and truly, I want to dedicate this coming year to the best I have to pursue. Those things are God, health, and enjoying school and everything else, so I’m doing it. It feels a little strange that God would continue to bless me after he’s already done so much, but since he loves me, why not draw closer? All of these things are what I’m passionate about. And I’m excited. 🙂

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

