I’m back from China!!!

Two months and sixteen journals later, oh it was good to have that time this summer some place completely different. I spent so much time writing on themes of love, marriage, family, fairness, and how God love’s us in transit and instead of talking to friends at home. It felt a little weordw at first, but going without a phone is easy if you want it to be. Spending time with my nephew and sister in law was the right choice.

I read a lot more bible, which made me happy. Nearly through it, but I want to finish up while taking my time. And you know what? I missed church so freaking much. Prayed more. But nothing can replace communion and worship in your own language. Coming home is beautiful because of my people, but even better is reading emails from two months worth of communion taking place at my church and seeing the way our people support one another. I csnt wait to be back this Sunday. There is nothing better than feeling part of something so awesome.

How can I consider working outside the church if I have just a year left til I graduate? Nothing would make me happier and nothing else comes close. Even teaching means less if I can’t share my faith. Praying that God opens a door. Can you imagine a happier life?

I can’t believe I filled 16 entire journals. On the way back, I carried them with me and my bible (and pens). Ok, I loose the stuff I bought, but what you write is part of you. Wherever I go, my writing will always be my greatest souvenir. You bare your soul and nourish it in ink. I have freedom not to hide who I am.

Oh, I’m so glad to be back home. Content in what I have. I realized on the second leg of the flight how insanely blessed my life is. I feel like I’m the luckiest girl in the world.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

3 thoughts on “I’m back from China!!!”

Leave a Reply

