Cycling through systems

I really love creating systems for accomplishing tasks. I talk a lot about school on this blog, and the process of learning.

I don’t have a colorful way of saying a lot of things. There’s no red ribbon on figuring out how to make more time in your life for what you care about. There is no special prize. If you can engineer a way of life that is healthy, it is it’s own prize. I believe health can only come to full fruition under faith, and there’s no red ribbon on that either.

This next statement isn’t extra special. It’s not sensational. None of these words are all that worth it. That’s okay.

If you design a system and you use it until it expires, and you’re working on another system, and another and another, what ends up happening? They become internalized. Something about the structure stays inside of you. It shapes your questions, and the next rendition. Systems aren’t perfect, but if you study how instead of what or why, you often end up with more bang for your buck. How is a way of life. There’s a lot of grace in how.

If I think back to the beginning of this semester in January, I’m struck by how many systems I set in place over time, solely in order to learn from them. Like having a blog or talking to a wall so you can process, these systems taught me how to represent and explain reality in ways that were actually useful, and really beneficial to my life. Even if they weren’t directly beneficial for others (hypotheticals), they were incredibly helpful for me to learn from. Whether it was an extreme amount of research about my career path, spread over months, simple conversations that led to blessings, or whatever else, these structures helped keep me on track, and practice discernment in how I lived.

You can engineer the future, if you actually try. If you see living in and of itself as a blessing, you will salvage more knowledge from mistakes. It’s the name of the game, but sometimes it feels pike like no one learns.

It is utterly fascinating how much a person can accomplish and more importantly,  remember when he or she takes the time to engineer his/her way of life. God may have created the earth, but he gives us tools for a reason. I never realized how much I could do in even a small scale before I started deciding to design my own methods of accomplishing my tasks. Tools like Google Calendar may be the fastest way for me to set up incentives based on current technology, but changing your productivity could be as simple as utilizing more of the features on your phone.

Next semester,  I am taking two of five classes with the same teacher, in the same room. I’m fascinated to see how having that parallel structure helps me do better in both classes. I bet you it will work.

I can tell more of all this has been internalized by the sheer speed in which new things are tracked, noted, and accomplished. Not all effort ends happily, but at this point, with some 4 months of being free to get into th groove, I cut days off my week by selective planning and structuring reminders for myself. I work in blocks of time. I prioritize faith.

It’s almost the end of the semester. My grades aren’t perfectly perfect. I had better things to learn. Pushing on a few more weeks, this school year will be over. Thank God. It went so fast.

We speed up, but I’m not sure I register how fast the days fly by. We accomplish more with age, but do we notice it? We are flying into the future, but will we remember what matters? Lord I hope so.

Even with limitless gifts, if our lives aren’t lived and given in purpose, it will all have been a waste. It’s an easier journey to walk with God.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

