Activism and faith’s extra edge

Sometimes sitting and hearing about the news, I am struck by the gravity of how routinely powerless I feel to affect real change in this world. In those moments, I feel like each of us who has faith in Christ has a very real choice: to either panic or hope for better.

I don’t believe I can change the world. I don’t have the ability, the strength, or the understanding. But I believe in God, and I know he works for the benefit of those who love him. He works for the poor and the opressed, showing up in the most unexpected places. I believe in a faith that lives, and I believe in the strength of Jesus.

I may not have the power, but I know someone who does. I don’t think any kind of change is really worth it unless it’s offered before God, partially because I have the sneaking suspicion that it won’t last. As people of faith, we have to come together to change this world. It is not enough to be complacent, to surrender caring, to simply give up on the lives you can’t change. None of us are perfect, but God is.

I just want more, for all the people I love. The people I know who are struggling to make ends meet. Their children. Our church family. The Body of Christ, here and abroad, en Chile, throughout all the world. I want more for humanity. I want all the credit to go to God.

Lord knows we aren’t perfect, but that is no reason to give up on the love that was once there. Each of us has choices to make, and if my life is easy for a time, I need to use it as a spring board for faith in a time that it wont be. I don’t believe in waiting around for change. Sometimes in moments when we are waiting, we are really just meant to be gathering strength.

I’m ready to be wrong about a whole new season of life lessons. Faith in grace is the greatest gift a person can recieve, and the most genuine means of blessing others. If you want to maximize the impact of your life here on earth, run after faith. I’m excited to see God on the other side. This is just the beginning.

It just feels like the weaker I become, the more I see the breadth of his mercy. It’s like a banner. The banner of love in Song of Songs. The protection sung of in the Psalms. The Good Shepherd. Would you let your body become loose and rise, if you were drowning? Would you trust Christ to scoop you out? These are the stakes we’ve come to. Faith is the only way.

It is important to note that sometimes God doesn’t explicitly tell us how to move or where. He guides us, but from a distance. It makes me wonder if he’s just testing whether we’ll move if he tells us to go somewhere. It doesn’t have to be perfect faith. Would you be willing to love over the difference?

This past week, it was a struggle whether or not to move. God had laid out this entire straight path, and I just didn’t want to budge. There was no good reason not to. In fact, there were plenty of good reasons not to. I already knew I was wrong. I didn’t want to move anyways.

What will you do, once you run out of excuses? Not for lack of trying. Not because you don’t know better. Not because you haven’t voiced it. But because you simply didn’t.

I want more for my life than convenient disobedience. I used to believe in my second to last year of high school that I had to choose between myself and God. I remember telling my counselor how much I wanted to serve God but felt like I had to choose. For a couple years, I chose wrong. I didn’t have enough trust to realize that if I trusted in God, he would provide me with infinitely more than I ever would have chosen for myself.

If I have choices to make, I will make them for myself. Ironically, the only way to do that it to choose God over myself. He just knows better. He is just that good.

I’m glad that God created all things, because then I have closure that if I make choices to follow God, they will also be for the people I love. For the planet I can’t save. In a love that isn’t mine. Those choices aren’t painstakingly carving out my own way, but conforming to the straight path of the Father, which is a thousand times easier, for the record. Grace isn’t mine. It can’t be mine. It isn’t earned. But with enough love, it can be given. And I don’t have to be perfect to have faith in a love that preserves and handcrafted it all.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

