Honesty: Even hindsight is broken

The one thing I forget most often when I feel like I’ve failed is that if I am honest with someone, even the leap of faith it took to be genuine was a calculated risk.

Honesty doesn’t always work out in our favor, but God is still good. It isn’t your fault to be honest, because honesty is a good thing. It’s not always absolutely necessary, but in tense moments where it would be one thousand times easier to ignore that nagging feeling, it’s best to just do it. I look back and only just now do I realize that often, the risks I have taken were pretty calculated. No one does honesty perfectly, but odds are, if I speak the truth, I  believe it is worth it. I know I’m speaking broadly, but the question isn’t whether honesty is valuable, it’s about delivery.

Sometimes you know that you have to be honest because it’s the only thing that will a) resolve tension and b) provide the feedback someone else needs from you. What’s more, sometimes you know intuitively that if you arent painfully, bluntly honest, you never will be, nor will anyone else.

Sometimes you have to do the crappy thing and hold on long enough to watch it pay off. Foresight can really suck, but it’s worth it once it turns into a blessing. In those times more than any other, honesty is really hard. Not surprisingly, it always turns out to be worth it. If you are tired of the truth today, I dare you to treat every true thing you say like a savings bond, and look to God to add interest on each promise. God loves the truth, because it is in the nature of love to rejoice with the truth instead of ourselves.

When a person is honest, there is a certain amount of sacrifice and risk that has to occur. It isn’t easy, but it’s kind of like giving God firstfruits of all that you do. It doesnt always work out right, but honesty is still a good practice to get into, if you can focus on the forest instead of the trees.

Hopefully, you’ve had an energizing Monday. If not, I pray that rest comes easily tonight!

Love,

Haley

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

