So happy

4/19/2015

Father, I just want to press this moment of time into my memory for a few moments.

Papa, I don’t think we understand the magnitude that you regularly bless us. You know, even in times of confusion, there are no secrets with you. It’s nice to know that someone else sees. It’s nice to be able to share everything, and never have to explain any of it.

I am happy to be alive. Singing with my Gospel Choir today at a retirement home, seeing all the people I love at my church, meeting with friends and having a packed Sunday is such a blessing. So many times I have felt alone, but today wasn’t one of them.

I like being weak in comparison to you. There is no reason to prove anything, because it would be pointless. I get to talk about the Holy Spirit with my friends now. I can’t imagine a happier thing. I get to share my faith and we are all strengthened in being able to confide in one another. Thank you for this community. Lord, it is nice to be able to share in you.

I don’t have the answers. It’s pleasant. Why do we look so hard for answers instead of solutions? I’ll hedge my bets with you just another day, and choose to every morning. The stamina isn’t mine, and it doesn’t cost me. It’s free. I ask. You give. There can’t be any more bliss than this.

Trust is a funny thing. You give me more than I deserve, more than I expect, more than I would have dared anticipate and more than I could ever possibly run out of, and you ask me to share. It’s like passing out endless roses at a shopping mile. Just to know that kind of love. Just to see it transform the lives of the ones I love. Just to be able to have someone receive that same, disproportionate blessing, and know that it will change everything. Oh God, sharing means nothing if it isn’t done in love.

Father, thank you for the struggle. We don’t get to choose, but I’m grateful. The things I was wrong about yesterday you can use today. Thank God those failures give you room to operate. Thank God this isn’t about me.

If I am broken, then you are whole. If I am failing, then you provide. If I am weak, you are strong. If I am afraid, you are present. There isn’t a thing you wouldn’t give for those who love you, but the gifts aren’t the point; the point is the Giver. Thank you for your provision. Today overflowed with love, and even in these little moments that none of us can hold onto, its nice to know that it will only be better from here. You will be more in it. Regardless of what life brings, the mere nature of you being more inside life’s situations and more visible changes the entire game. There is peace in that.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

