Firm: Physical representation

Sometimes with faith,  I notice different concepts God is teaching me represented by a physical sensation. I don’t know that this is all that common, but it is. Lately, I spoke about how the most recent sensation had been weaving, like weaving a basket.  God has been bringing together a lot of things in my life behind the scenes lately for reasons that still have yet to be revealed, so that kind of makes sense.  Although we’re still more or less in a weaving moment, there is a new sensation to speak of: a firm stance.

When you stand tall, it is possible to notice that much of the palms of your feet touch the ground.  Poise over time turns into a firm stance,  and although that is a pretty sentance, it is no different in reality. You feel the ground solidly beneath your feet. There is balance, and physical strength in it. You can feel the slightest movement, but you remain standing,  motionless. I can’t say that a firm stance is the full reality today, but I feel it coming.

It’s the truth, but it’s a shot in the dark to ask people to believe some of this, so I don’t.  I will be honest though. It’s a lot nicer to be honest when you stand tall and you can still feel the earth beneath your feet, even when it shifts.  You loose none of the sensation, but gain traction and experience over time. As of today, that is what a firm faith looks like to me: a firm track record.  It’s one thing to believe in the truth, it’s another to teach about it from having lived it and having to roll with the punches.

We crave integrity, but it’s a chore to have to accumulate it. We crave a firm stance, but we try to build it on ground that simply doesn’t lend to proper traction. How can we expect to be stronger than the ground we stand upon? Just another reason to need a cornerstone.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

