The Ambivalent Nail in the Coffin

4/10/2015

The Ambivalent Nail in the Coffin

It is so funny how such an unexpected realization could be the last step in accepting a bunch of other things that just are. There are a certain amount of things in this world that are strictly black and white, but for the parts and pieces that define us, so much more of it can be grey. We allow and ask others to define those things before we’ve made peace with them, and that really isn’t the only option. It’s weird, but if you sit in honesty with yourself for longer than you think is necessary and years than you actually want to, some of those things become well adjust just because you have the trial and error opportunities to fail, and discern how much is really necessary to sacrifice. The answer: not all that much. Ego is one thing. Pride, fear, doubt, anger, ignorance. Those can be in the discard pile, but only through grace. The rest of it is a hot mess express of just allowing yourself to try to grow up straight, and making the mistakes that are necessary to learn the difference. I don’t think that process has to be all that justified, if you accept the forgiveness and grace that it has been fulfilled. It can just be what it is. And for whatever reason, I can finally do that too now. I have no idea why, but God just lifted a lot of weight. Thank God for freedom. Happy Friday to us all.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

