Slingshot (look what I found)!

image (1) image (2)

Walking through Marvin Grove (with all the trees yesterday), I found a tiny pre-made slingshot. I had just come from a friend’s apartment, having a good cry, and dude, I had just missed going to class. That’s okay. I get two absences, even though no one ever shows up to that class. Ethically speaking, I condone two misses from class, for myself. That was the second. But sometimes you just need a good cry, you know? Not upset, just tears. It’s all good.

Anyways, this slingshot. The little seed ball thing you see comes from the split apart center of a sycamore tree seed pod. It is still attached to it’s stem (Google: “Sycamore tree seed pod”. I dare you). Anyways, I found this little stick with a fork in it, and even though there isn’t much tension in the string of the sycamore seed, if you pull it back against the stick with enough tension, keeping it steady, you can flick the stick with you wrist as you release it, and watch it soar.

It’s nothing like David’s sling and stone, but it reminds me of when I was a kid, and I was bored. I’d make up all these little inventions that I’d search for parts for on the ground. It always worked out pretty great. At least it keeps you dreaming, you know? Thousands of little parts already made and perfected by the Creator, in the grass, in the sticks we tread upon, in the leaves and seeds and crazy little weird shaped seeds and shells and whatnot. How can we not value what God gave us? Materialism got me sick. I’ve already got everything I need, and it comes from the Holy Spirit. I’m just happy I can make my own toys, because Lord knows they aren’t coming with me.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

