Note to self: Eating breakfast

Brace yourself,  this post might seem extra frivolous.

How often do you eat breakfast? I noticed recently how hard it can be to give up that habit, right after you’ve restarted. Over spring break, I forced myself to eat breakfast every day. I was with a group of other people, and didn’t want my potential crankiness from low blood sugar to throw off our vibe. Now, having come back to school, I probably need to just keep this habit.

Its like, your body totally readjusts, once you give it the breathing room and regular meal structure to allow it to do what it does well naturally. I seriously believe that stress will throw off even the most elaborate attempts to start and cultivate good habits, but in the cluster need of making sure I ate, so that I could remain courteous to others, there was extra social incentive to maintain a good habit. We ate together, so I ate.

Now, I eat like a normal person, and I consider my habits pretty healthy.  But don’t deny me the fact that, if you are a person who is already pretty naturally hardwired to share, sharing the act of making positive choices works so much better when you want to make a change.

It’s funny, because we’re slightly halfway done with this semester.  I negotiated pretty hard over winter break about what good habits I wanted to shoot for this semester,  and unfortunately Breakfast, you didn’t make the list. It may seem small, but I know that God provides for my health,  if only by providing the peace of mind for me to choose my own good habits, and that peace has been overwhelming lately. So, I probably need to keep eating breakfast.  Eating breakfast is not only crazy important for your physical well being, but for your long term health, in terms of nutrition and health over a life span. Thus, may as well do that.

Negotiating good choices is one potential outlet for “overthinking”. If you think “too much” anyways, use that gift as God intended (as a gift), and use it for his glory. That can mean taking care of yourself, so you can care for others. That can mean remembering to pack an extra banana, because odds are, your friend will have had a rough morning like she normally does with a 10 am class start, and totally forgotten food. Choices are choices, and if we let these little, commonly-seen-as-nuisance thought styles work for us, they will become the gift that God intended.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

