Expressions on love

What is an expression? In terms of language, what counts as an “expression”, or a “figure of speech”?

Could it be self-expression? The words we use all the time, that people know are distinctly ours, used often enough?

We claim these words. They are ours. “Lol”. I assert ownership.

After a time, a phrase or set of words symbolizes. It expresses something deeper than just a couple words. It becomes part of culture,  and foreign to those who don’t understand it.

Can faith be an expression? A lifestyle? A song?

Could it be altogether different, and characterized by something essentially unique?

It is. The Holy Spirit defines it, distinguishes it, demonstrates it, gives.  I’m not sure about the Gospel and how we assign gender to the different aspects of God, but does the Holy Spirit ever feel distinctly female to anyone else? Supportive. Encouraging. Its the “Helper”, after all.

Sometimes its like the whole world rushes so quickly to explain such essential truths. We all want to be credited with saying it first, or best, or better.  I dont understand academics so much,  for that reason. A good thing is a good thing,  no matter who says it.

I would rather learn to listen extremely well than publish thousands of articles. It means more. Can you give? Giving is about others. Giving is for free.

If you had to invest in something, why not choose the people you love, and be better, for their sake? If you can’t do it for yourself,  perhaps it’s could be easier to them. For Christ. Selflessness is an asset.

Intentions aren’t enough,  but I often wonder if steadfast love can be. “Hope, faith, and love abide, but the greatest of these is love.” I know that his love is for a reason. Trusting in it gives completion. It is so strange how many people rush to give, but cannot gracefully recieve. Sometimes the greatest gift is allowing others to have you be blessed by them. Being open to recieve.  If you cannot accept a good thing without guilt or shame, how can you expect to demonstrate that same peace to others? We all have so much to learn,  but grace can only be learned from the source. Would you dare to try?

If you could express one feeling for the rest of your existence,  what would it be? Anger? Sadness? Shame?

Could it be thanks? Gratitude?

Could it be love?

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

