Spring time is BACK (I think?)

3/22/2015

Spring time is BACK (I think?)

Tis the season for sleeping in with windows open,

For mowing the lawn again,

And following through with your promises to give the dogs a bath.

For baking things with fruit in it,

And remembering that sour cream is optional.

For hair that turns shades in the sun,

Or braids up better than the bronze stuff does,

Or has special pigtail bands don’t look so great on hair like mine,

Or all the scrunchies you only save for doing yard work.

It’s March again,

The lilac hasn’t come back,

But it’s still here.

The Nuthatches are bickering over their housing options, as they squabble among the big ol metal letters of the Military Science Building,

Which for the record, are rusted.

You forget to pack a lunch AND BOY WAS THAT A MISTAKE

Because you’re metabolism has sped up, Stupid

It’s no longer winter, so you need to actually plan ahead,

It’s caught up to you.

Watch your schedule repossess your happiness for the hour and a half you spend in the basement of any building on campus, finishing class;

And burst out like a rampant caterpillar reborn when you get the hell outta there,

You earned it.

The dandelions have begun to be visible,

Did you hear that?

Wake up at 6am because it’s not optional,

The daylight stays past 7:30 (pm)

Where the hell did that come from??

But okay,

We’ll keep it,

Keep your eyes peeled for decent looking tomatoes,

And I’ll meet you on the other side.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

