Ted Bear Poodle Dog

3/10/2015

Ted Bear Poodle Dog

I lift my saddened eyes from the carpet,

And Teddy’s tail thumps, a few feet away.

He stares into my eyes,

In a way, he knows.

At this point, he’s been staring at me for minutes,

He’s waited for me to simply lift my eyes,

When I do, he bounds over on sloppy paws,

Like a blind man with muddy eyes, he covers my eye sockets me saliva blessings,

Tiredness falls away,

Because his name is who he claims to be,

And he’s a Teddy Bear, you guys.

No,

We sit together, and Ella is so angry,

She whips her head back and forth, indignant;

She knows she has his attention, but she’s too proud to give eye contact.

It’s funny, because when she doesn’t get exactly what she wants, she barks;

She’s loud and too obnoxious, she ignores what she actually wants, she comes to me instead of him, to make him jealous.

I rub his eyeball sockets, because he likes it when you do that,

It’s like wiping tear stains from his dewey Poodle eyes.

One second we’ll be cuddling on the carpet, the next second she’ll charge,

Like a bull in a China shop;

I’m too old for this.

If I ignore her, she’ll lie down;

The quickest way is to demonstrate I mean business:

We’re talking animal growls.

I look up, and Teddy is still waiting for me;

He lies over my stomach when I get most upset,

He sits with me on the couch for no good reason;

Taking a Poodle-sized strip.

He asks for so much less than Ella does,

The only reason they get crap like extra strips of bacon is because of her.

Either way, he’s consistent,

He’s a lot more like Jesus than I could ever be,

And you guys,

Teddy is a dog.

Teddy makes me think of the places my heart is too scared to wander, but just does it anyways,

The peace I have as I remember,

The company I feel when I allow the Holy Spirit room in my heart.

He reminds me of forgiveness,

He isn’t as good at Poodle Babushka as Ella is as Pomeranian Babushka, post-bath;

But he makes up for it, because there is so little in him that desires to cause harm.

He’s derpy,

And lazy,

And silly,

And kinda dumb;

But I love Teddy.

And when I’m sad,

It is peace to have him comfort me.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

