Slow Down, Speedy McGee

2/18/2015

Slow Down, Speedy McGee

Remain

Just do it.

No.

Like, right now.

^^The struggle is real in this morning,

I’ve realized that all of those spreadsheets and lists that I crafted over Winter Break are actually, quite useful,

And actually, they don’t need any more embellishment,

Because they were done in the exact way I knew I’d need to not be able to get out of all of it;

Frick.

So, this becomes the struggle:

Do your work.

I even made a “Do your homework” calendar on my Google Drive,

So that when I block off time to do my homework,

I get my own sass back at me:

“Do your homework.”

And just like a bizarrely intrinsic toddler,

I’m throwing fits against my own decent choices,

And you’ve got to be kidding me,

Because that’s pathetic,

And there it loops.

^^The reason self-control can actually be helpful, when applied to pre-planning how you will shut down your own sass.

And I am going to do my work once I get this poem written,

It’s isn’t a poem,

Think of it as an acknowledgment of the reality that yes,

Those spreadsheets are good for something,

And no,

I don’t need to make more,

I need to just do it.

Remain, remember?

That little word that is so relevant right now, as you play the idiot and try to jump into too many things again?

Slow the hell down, Speedy McGee,

You’ve still got to do some homework,

And like hell you’re falling that behind in your classes again

^^Whoever said my inner critic wasn’t good for something? She’s actually kind of a jerk, but it works.

It’s funny, because I have to even filter her for the Holy Spirit,

And not whatever ramblings she’s just internalized instead of just saying them,

Remind me who reads this?

Y’all should know it’s all the same crazy, just some of it’s quieter,

She’s giving me side eye,

And in about t minus 30 seconds I’mma have to wrap this up,

Because it’s going nowhere,

And the motivation has grown in,

And it’s best to use that stock while it’s hot.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

