Different kinds of difficult: Another quick note about stats

I just got done with my second working-things-out-by-hand homework assignment in stats, and dang. I most certainly do not speak calculator, but even then, there is a certain joy in actually getting things done. Like, manually computing certain equations isn’t all that fun, except when you’re done. I forgot what it was like to wrestle with several different calculators and a concept, trying to round to the correct decimal places, and actually work to do my best.

I realize that other people do math as significant parts of their majors, but Psychology isn’t like that. It’s conceptual. It’s broad. It dabbles in whatever it wants to, and throws up it’s hands and screams “SCIENCE!!” at the top of it’s lungs when it gets caught. If you want a major in which you can take it in pretty much any direction under the sun and be encouraged to do so, pick Psychology. Nonetheless, I am not used to having to work this hard in a way that I don’t regularly think, but I like it. Having so much extra time and freedom with my major has been really great, in terms of allowing things in their natural time and having an intense degree of flexibility. But the idea of being challenged and actually forcing myself to do something like a math problem, where I have to pay extreme attention to detail, lest I completely screw up? I really like having that feeling again. Hello, Attention to detail. You haven’t aged a bit.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

