You know how sometimes, people just don’t want to make eye contact?

I think that is a given. If you respect people’s right to be willfully socially awkward, knowing that being upset can just be a part of life sometimes, then from what I’ve noticed,  they are generally nicer to you when they actually talk to you, if they do. If not, whatever.  But I know for a fact that when I’m feeling cranky, the last thing I need is a dose of in your face good intentions.  There is no good reason except wading out the cranky and shifting myself into a better mood by things like Jesus and gratitude.  But happiness is not an instant gratification thing, and sometimes,  people just need to operate in an imaginary vaccuum.I think this is the general idea behind manners, in various contexts.  Finding excuses for things is almost just a fine art of “What is the most true AND plausible (commonly acceptable) reason I can use to get out of this”, for better or worse (last part is subjective). I love my people, but as people sometimes we just need breaks. That is okay. That is good! But it goes both ways.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

