Holy crap that was genius: Tips for (current) Freshman in College

2/7/2015

Holy crap that was genius: Tips for (current) Freshman in College

If you are like me, then these will especially apply.

  1. Save everything you care about, to the best of your abilities.
    1. Wait and see what I mean. I still have notes from every class I’ve ever taken in college, and DANG does that make figuring out my career path simple, especially when I can reference them with drawings I did in the 2nd grade about “making inventions” (I think those were mine. Whatever, they apply. My sister and I shared interests for so long that I hardly care).
    2. You will be able to help people. I still remember writing out a copy of different graphs I had drawn in Calc (before I decided to transfer out with a C). My strategy was to see if STEM fields would even abstractly be a good start (I also failed AP Chem; on purpose arguably, but mostly to see if I could bear to do Chemistry. I couldn’t). But seriously, the things you take extra time with mean something to you, even if you can’t recognize it yet.
  2. If you have 1 billion separate interests, resolve to do all of them, and then deduce the right order.
    1. You’re only young once, folks. If nothing else, you’ll make a serious dent.
  3. If you find yourself casually talking about what you care about constantly, that is a good thing! Keep it up! Not only will it eventually help you get friends if you’re willing to help people and aren’t a jerk, but someday, all of those good things will add up, and you will finally realize it. There is no time like now, and no time like now to make a genuine effort to really do good things.
  4. Cultivate meaningful friendships. If this is already your style, accept it and allow it to flourish. People aren’t going to hate you. If they do, respectfully relocate your interests for a bit. It will mean something, trust me.
  5. Pay attention to where you find the things you care about, or find meaningful. Follow that trail, and talk to the people who make them. Learn about their lives, their pasts, their presents, and in an organic way because you care, their mistakes. Run the other way, but know enough people so that you can deduce what is fluff and what is true. People aren’t bad, but people are people. Make it up as you go and always be willing to try new things.
  6. Eventually, you will have good outlets for whatever you will do anyways, but the idea is that if you value everything you do, those things will emerge naturally over time. Surround yourself with people who allow that to happen, and disregard those who do not.
  7. Remember that the only difference between Teacher and Student is role and what it means to be respectful. Enjoy your classes, because if you try, you can. Don’t disrespect people. Pick yourself back up again if you do.
  8. Don’t forget to breathe and do your fair share of fun stuff. There is a lot free in a lot of places that isn’t bad for you (or is), if you try. Make an effort to follow at least one good thing, and think of it like a naturally spiraling chain of awesome. You can’t go wrong.
  9. Don’t forget that your roommates are also people…
  10. Don’t forget that your teachers are also people…
  11. Don’t forget that your parents are also people…
  12. And your siblings…
  13. (Optional) And your pastor(s)…
  14. Be grateful.
  15. Be willing to start over when you need to.
Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

