Lol I went to the wrong class

I was distracted, because I found a new portion of an old and familiar building that didn’t connect to the rest of it. It had all these signs like “Authorized personnel only” and I was all like “DANG I NEED TO RUN LOLOL BUT OKAY WHEN WILLL THE SQUAT TEAM ARRIVE??!” And it was good, because I had to take the elevator up a floor, and then down a floor, and then I came out the same way I mis-entered the building. On the bright side, I now know that the entrance I used is not meant for me.

Being disoriented, distracted, and lolzing to ridiculous music that makes one think of cute boys and vacations on islands, I literally walked into the wrong class at no time that any normal human would take that class. I’m pretty sure the class started before then, and it was mostly grad students. To make matters more lolz, I have that class later today, and my first class of today is at 11 (aka in 15 minutes, next door). After opening the door and laughing on instinct when the professor gave me a priceless “Ermm…what?” face, I checked my phone, realized I was in that moment an idiot, and to burn some spare energy generated from how hilarious that was, power-walked all around campus because for whatever reason, sometimes adrenaline from embarrassment needs burned off, and it’s best to roam.

So I walked all around, and I found another bit of campus I never knew about. Apparently there is an outdoor dance pavilion donated by the class of 1943 that is in semi-disrepair. It’s a giant concrete slab the size of a small basketball court that lights up, has a crumbling bench row, and could really use some TLC and a boom box. It overlooks Potter’s Lake, my favorite place on campus, which is outside. This spring, I could round up some friends or people I know that enjoy platonic kinds of dancing, we could take the 15 minutes it needs to sweep and pick up broken glass, we could bring pudding cups and oreos and potentially real person food like fried chicken, and we could make a lazy evening of it. And that is why I don’t curl up into a ball of shame when I’m embarrassed. Because at some point, I’d rather be dancing, and now I have another place for it.

I have to go to my first actual class now. Which is great, I think. I’m glad, because I didn’t want to go to the other one. I think by the time I need to go to that one, around 2:30pm, I should be well versed in allowing myself to be chill as hell, and it won’t be that bad at all.

Until later,

Haley

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

