Procrastinators that will take over the world, can I get an amen?

1/13/2014

Procrastinators that will take over the world, can I get an amen?

Ok, Holmes, I’m in the final days of the frosty equivalent of summer, and I’m starting to think that at this point, having so little to do is what makes me forgetful.

Haha! You say. You lazy human, you have turned into an unproductive **shivers** member of society than stays in the homes of family members and is basically turning into a Patchouli person every moment of back-breaking labor or office maintenance that goes untasked! The horror of abdicating the 9 to 5 and the PANIC WHEN YOU CAN NO LONGER BE CLASSIFIED AS A PERSOOOOOOOON….

Call me a yuppie, folks, but I’m learning.

But wanna know something else? I can multitask and meet deadlines so well that I can wake up within minutes of needing too, turn off my alarm before it sounds and wakes up my sleeping mom and dogs (lol), put together an outfit in 5 minutes, shower in 8, get dressed in 10, and then do whatever else I need to do that day, starting at 6am and ending at 11pm at the latest, only to wake up, do it again, and enjoy it with carefully scheduled breaks, meals (pre-packed), and excessive extracurricular involvement, all administered by 1000+ tiny systems I designed or personalized to my individual needs, and supported by money I earned to accommodate for my personal expenses as well as to collect professional experiences for the path I have chosen.

Call me lazy again.

Haha, because right, college should be the hard part. The hard part is not coursework. The hard part is balance, and holla at cha girl if you want a diagnosis for why you are having a hard time with Freshman English. I’d probably actually say nothing and help walk through editing your papers with you. It would probably be good for both of us. See how this works? I can share with you about writing, which I love, and you can correct me when I think it’s Sunday and it’s actually Tuesday, give or take.

The lack of pressure to accomplish much is making me forget. I’m going to give my dogs baths today, before my mom comes home. She comes home within the hour. See that? Now I remember. The mere act of writing it down and the pressure of having published it on this inanimate blog portal of crazy is the perfect system of accountability.

On the one hand, I write constantly. I know what it feels like when I don’t want to admit things. Thus, if I write something I am ashamed of and it’s the truth of not being able to meet deadlines I set for myself, I will probably just work through that embarrassment, and figure out what needs changed, if at all. There are robot people that like these posts here and there. Haha! I found the weakness to the system of sharing my incessant stream of opinions with friends and family! And it actually works as positive reinforcement while helping share casual knowledge I have gathered with people that might find some use for it, if it is of any worth! Instant feedback on my writing, instant accountability for my brain, and the ability to track what was in my life as an electronic archive for when I get cranky again, to take stock and appreciate the little I have (or the lot I have). It’s genius. I have my journal entries in one common location, archived by date, subject matter, and most importantly, emotion. That way when the pink tub in my room gains even more weight by the rapidly expanding collection of journals, I can have a specific place to look instead of ruffling through the 40 ish journals there are now. There once were 30. There once were zero. I filled about 8 tiny 150 page $1 journals from Walmart on the side, apart from this blog since August. I have no idea where I’m going to put them all.

And that is why I will take over the world, ProcrastiNation. Because I take over my journals like it was fluent. And because this winter/frosted summer break was spent perfectly. And now all I have to do is export the pressure it takes for me to remember to wash my dogs right now and know they will have about 30 and 15 minutes to dry respectively if I start right now into my classes. Eat that, people who equate structured procrastination and taking stock to being a bum. Y’all can’t even know how great this is.

Also, I’m not really gonna take over the world. I’m just going to make it organized and talk about Jesus a lot and teach. Yep, sounds about right.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

