Undating

1/10/2015

Undating

I have a bizarre proposal for whomever may be listening.

You guys know how there are some pretty tried and true methods for having a terrible date? Basically, they boil down to having an accurate way to do small talk and fumble around awkwardly while trying to describe yourself to another person you think is hot.

So, I have a new idea. If the point of a romantic relationship is to have someone in your life who you enjoy and can even appreciate in stupid situations, wouldn’t a better perspective on dating be to do everything completely terrible if you really want to get to know a person, in the activities you choose.

Clearly you are going to be your regular derpy self, but you are going to choose activities that are kinda weird from the beginning. The point of this is simple and not vindictive in my opinion: to figure out whether or not the person you like will still be cute to you (and vice versa) if they are out of their element.

Now, I’m not saying take him or her to the shooting range in a cocktail dress, that is just weird. But finding nontraditional dating hallmark moments that are only cute because it’s something you’d both potentially be into or you find out that the person that might be cute is definitely not or IS A FREAKING MAVERICK with a good sense of humor; that’s what running the opposite direction than whatever the prehistoric dating formula that is popularly still preached now dictates. Just make it slightly weird, and see what happens. To me, that would be great, because being funny is something I think is cute. I’d like to be able to focus on the other person, versus than having distracting circumstances. As long as there are jokes, it hardly matters the context. Lol that would be good.

This can’t be a new concept. Either way it works in your favor if you don’t have all that much criteria except things that naturally emerge over time. Either way, you’ll know if you are paying attention. Isn’t that the point?

Well, maybe, to some people. That’s what it would be to me.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

