If I had to choose an enemy, it would be Michel Foucault

Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Michel_Foucault

First of all, I get the feeling he and I would belittle each other in the same stupid way, and he would be a seriously daunting adversary. He was seriously gifted, but seriously deranged, and I like that. From the sounds of it and his actively homosexual/bathhouse/dying of AIDS lifestyle, I feel like we’d have lots to bicker about and most of it would probably end in scathing but tender attempts to undermine one another while still claiming to be nice people. I think it’s funny how he had mental issues and an obsession with gore, I think it’s funnier how he freaked out his roommates.

The bit about him trying to earn his second thesis and his reviewers being fazed, calling it “not a conventional work of history, making sweeping generalisations without sufficient particular argument, and that Foucault clearly “thinks in allegories” ” makes me lol. I think it’s funny and true that he shied away from a lot of strict interpretations of his ideas and how they were put into academic practice. The best part is that he has enough fragments of different aspects of his character that he could be both demented as all get out and still a delight to have in a formal gathering or serving others in a kind way. He seems utterly crazy, which is why I know we would get along. I think it’s funny that he decided to head to the California area for the hell of it and basically died because he was living his life however the hell he wanted to. Even if you disagree with the choices he made (for whatever reason you might), you’ve got to admit that he must have had a ridiculous amount of swagger. He seems like a character that I would want around if I ever either hypothetically murdered someone (that would never happen) and needed a wingman, or if I just wanted to get froyo and say nothing but spell out messages in spoons.

If you have to choose an enemy, you want some one who you can respect, who can be a good dramatic foil, and who is legitimately willing to go all out to make your life a living nightmare. It keeps things fresh and lively, if not morbid, hilarious, and severely poorly adjusted. Whatever. If Foucault had to be brilliant for him to also be pretty legitimately crazy, than at least he was a nice person. I think we’d get along. But more importantly, I’d love the opportunity to go up against someone so ridiculously intricate and demented as Michel Foucault. Think of the spite. It would be palpable.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

