Come back (Lowen)

1/5/2015

Come back (Lowen)

Her ears are different than mine,

They curve into little C’s.

Her eyes are a lighter green,

They look like clarity.

Her hair is orange under dye,

Red, she calls it.

Her skin looks tired around her eyes,

It makes me need to yawn.

She slouches when she stands,

In the same way Myriam trained me out of.

Her hair is tight against her head,

As a pony tail.

So much happened since 14,

We stand face to face, 6 years later,

And I’m lost.

When they stand together,

And my mind wanders away,

Am I still family?

I was fatter than my mother in the 6th grade,

She said we’d be beautiful eventually,

Not in those words.

But that’s how I remembered.

My skin is less oily,

My hair kept its curl,

The tears have long since dried but,

I stand here curious.

Is that what it took to confront the past?

To nearly die?

Guess so.

My face is skinny like my mother’s now,

I fall silent.

I have nothing to say.

I watch.

Did we all revert back, or those years I still can’t remember, were they different?

I may never know.

Are you in there, Lowen?

I can’t tell.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

