Advice columns make me very sad

1/2/2015

I truly hope this does not come off as complaining, but this is the truth.

Honesty is what heals. No one person or even group of people has the ability to determine the truth and the correct response to your problems. They don’t have enough or as much information, they don’t have the ability or right to judge, and there is not right answer so often that instead, God calls us to choose, using his Holy Spirit through Jesus. If you do not believe in Jesus, that too is your choice: I respect that and I wish so much happiness for you and your family. But most of the time, people need to process their problems, ascertain feedback if necessary from those they trust, and resolve their own problems. It is not fair to solve their problems for them. It is so much more important to be an approachable, trustworthy friend, so that no one walks alone.

To fix the broken pieces of our lives, we have to get closer, not further away. There is no quick fix, there never was. To me, advice columns make it seem like an infinitely easy and also, easily ignored game. You have a choice. Dare to be brave, reach out, say nothing, be kind. Anything. Strangers can know or fix your problems, but you can. It will be okay.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

