I like Blondie (the Cartoon strip in my paper)

Internet,

I would just like to take a moment to salute Blondie, the cartoon strip, and it’s creators Dean Young/John Marshall.

I like this strip. Many people could look at it and call it sexist because it’s basically about a derpy husband that eats everything and sleeps a lot, a wife that does like everything and keeps things real, and two kids that are derpy and adorable, male and female respectively, young adults.

I don’t think that is a bad thing. In Western culture, we have our moments of thinking one thing is a lot crazier than another. We swing back and forth between what constitutes okay and moral, and some of that includes a collaborative process called Democracy (in the United States).

Now, we each are going to have our opinions anyways. That is a given. But a lot of the things we don’t like from person to person are not held against us on a regular basis, and I’m grateful for that. Not everyone is, but whatever, they’re probably also a lot more cranky as a whole.

So, I like Blondie. I think there is a lot of truth there, made modern by the text. Cartoons are an art. You keep the same characters and the same drawing style to draw attention to the world as it currently is. Some of them can be political. Some of them can be derpy and made up. My favorite one is Non Sequitur, it has been since I was old enough to get it. As a fat fourth grader, I especially enjoyed Garfield. I never really got Peanuts, and I’m just growing old enough to think Born Loser doesn’t suck. Pickles makes me think of delightful old people. When I was an angsty junior high schooler, Get Fuzzy was the best. Baby blues has always been pretty great because that is basically my mom’s hairstyle and it’s PG but not terrible. I have always hated Family Circus with a vengeance, and Off the Mark takes me several seconds of straight staring to decode, and then it’s usually pretty funny. Pearls before Swine is hit or miss, but that’s what I’d guess with a name like that anyways. I like Sherman’s Lagoon for the demented Hermit Crab, and Hagar the Horrible has become progressively more stupid as I aged out of slapstick humor.

Now, those were my collectively impressions as I opened my cartoons section just now. I like all of them. Those are my opinions. And I’ve always loved the cartoons, I don’t have to age in or out of that. They’re great. And it’s so much better than the garbage Tarot section. I swear, I could interpret my Taurus status as having eaten carrots and then shaped the carrot remnants into a sand castle for how intentionally vague all that is.

Whatever. Thank you, Creators of Blondie. I enjoy it.

All the best,

Haley

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

