Christian Music, sit down. We need to have a talk.

Dear Christian Music Industry (lol hope I already sound like the Liberal Phantom Menace),

Redo:

Dear Christian Music,

We need to talk.

Christian Music, it hurts my feelings when you sing catchy up tempo songs about Jesus and him coming to people living in poverty or on the street and what not sometimes. I love Jesus. I love people of all kinds. But I want to tell you that when you make something very very happy that is very very scary to live through, it can come off as insensitive or straight up ignorant. It isn’t all that nice, and sometimes, it can almost be offensive, because then people believe that Jesus is some innanimate life force that comes to people with out any external support.

That is true. He is the Holy Spirit. He is good. But he calls us each to play our role in solutions to the world’s problems, and if we sing a very happy song and then act in a way that connotes we don’t know what we are talking about in our word choice, tone, pacing, etc. (even chord structure, really), we ignore that some of those things really do suck.

I know that is not your intention, but it can be dumb to turn on the radio to hear about Jesus and hear some faked version of a real life story that just implies an enormous amount of clueless-ness and disconnect. I don’t want to hurt your feelings, but please pay attention. These things are everywhere. Christian Radio, please play something that isn’t as happy. We don’t just live happy, even with Jesus. If he is most with us in the dark moments, shouldn’t we make that just as known? Honestly, I think that’s one of the coolest things he has going for him: he is there no matter what. Why wouldn’t we want to own that? Our God is alive.

I hope you have a happy New Year, Christian Music. Please try to take this to heart. See you next time I turn on the radio.

Peace,

Haley

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

