How to Survive the End of a Cycle

12/29/2014

How to Survive the End of a Cycle

  1. Sleep. Sleep like its 1999 and the world could literally end on New Year’s. Sleep like you took a Valium to get your wisdom teeth out. Sleep like the only bed that you have ever known was the best bed in the world coming home from Chile. Sleep like you went a little too hard on the liquor juice and need to be tucked in by Jesus and wake up like a real person. Sleep.
  2. Reassess. You have come to after probably about a week on average. This is the time where you need to ask yourself if it is worth it to get your life back together just yet. You need to take into consideration that you have two more stages left, and you need to accept them with a calm, zen-like attitude of pacing that is really good for you regardless.
    1. Consider your options. Can you avoid doing laundry and other necessary household tasks? If yes, do. If no, do it quickly with music on and give yourself no other option period.
    2. This is the stage where you redefine what you have appreciated and what needs to change from the previous cycle. You don’t have to let this scare you, it is a long haul anyways and regardless of whether you acknowledge your choices, you can take your sweet time in acknowledging them in public, but do this for yourself. Personally, I like to make pros and cons lists for when I am very stressed. I like to draw when there are no words. I like to walk when I just need to be chill. And above all things, I like to talk to God about all of the bits and pieces, because he listens better anyways and I don’t care to listen to dumb comments by people who truly genuinely care but will not understand my rambling.
      1. You need to cut yourself a break.
      2. You need to move forward.
      3. You don’t need to do it this very moment.
      4. It’s okay to cry, in fact, it is a gift (not all people can).
      5. You can process however works that isn’t hurting you or others (and thus, illegal).
      6. Just make it through it and learn. Those are your only two objectives.
  3. Live slowly. When you make any kind of change, if you want it to stick, it has to be progressively low stakes to higher stakes over a time period that is logically sound to do so. If this is recovering from an addiction, you cannot rush it or cut corners in any way. You must heal. The guilt and the shame that others will see are going to be your biggest enemies in this, but I promise, you are strong enough to keep going. It helps to give it to God, because then there is less shame. Otherwise, from my personal experience, you will not heal all the way. God is not a means to an end; he is the Great I am. Apart from that, let it be, even if it isn’t good. You will survive.
    1. For all of us that are tackling significantly less scary problems, try to keep that in mind and be grateful for what you have. You are alive, that is something we can all be grateful for, despite problems. If you were dead, you would have no problems to panic about. Move forward. It’s okay. It doesn’t have to be fast, sometimes it can be lying in bed and regenerating the strength. If that is what you need, let no one shame you to the contrary. One day, you will be strong enough to face all of it head on. Until then, accept your limitations and care for yourself. When I was this depressed, I had to pretend I was doing it for other people, in everything. Exercise, for ___. Eating, for ____. Getting out of bed for my family. That was the only thing strong enough to bring me out of it. You can do it for you later, or you can do it for you now if you are strong enough. But the point is to do it, and in doing it, gather strength. It will not be easy. But it will be ok.
      1. Laughter and breathing, the best remedies (time).
  4. Move. This is the transitional moment between the past and moving forward. You must accept what has happened and learn to value it over time. It will not be easy. The only things that will make it quicker are love, reflection, rest, and God. That is literally it. You can choose other things if they help, I recommend that you do. Art is good. Dancing is good. Gardening is good. Writing is the best. This is my personal opinion because these were my personal remedies, and I challenge you to dare to discover your own. Life is a gift. Even if you cannot appreciate it today, you will. You must keep moving so you can share the hard times and the struggles and pass on this great torch of beauty that you have earned by survival. It will be okay. Even if there is no one to be there and tell you it is okay, consider me your friend. Distance and time never meant anything to sanity or love; I learned that on study abroad. It will be alright. Just live to the best living you can, and learn enough to pass it on some day. If nothing else, God will be with you in whatever way you can accept him. And that is all you need.
Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

