Doubt

12/28/2014

Doubt

It’s like a web of disconnect,

It’s kind of like the wires of phones,

We’ve gone wireless now, I suppose,

But the doubt is in our bones.

You can’t see me if I’m not plugged in,

The vine won’t reach me alone,

I don’t understand what is more important

Than listening to the known.

I don’t understand so much,

But could it be because it isn’t meant to get?

The knowledge isn’t meant to frighten,

But surely we shouldn’t forget?

I don’t know so much

I could probably make a shirt

I’d say “I have no clue” in red and blue,

Like truth ground into dirt.

Justification, Apology, Indecision

We three friends are doubt.

We can fling and cry and laugh and parade

And ruin things about.

We look to the “weakest link”; that is where we’ll be

We’ll say a true dark joke

Trade some silly smiles

And do it all for free.

We attack from the inside

We sell our souls for righteous lies

Despite what we’re selling you

We only tempt for the price of Pride.

What more can I say to the three demented haunts

Who have fouled up this place?

I will say nothing,

I will sit and pray

I will ask for a little grace.

Does your Ruler come with inches and centimeters?

It may be more helpful with two,

One for the Gentile like me,

And one for you, the Jew.

Printed on the same ruler stick,

I cannot imagine a foot

I know that they are the same distance in fingers or pinches

They spread like pinches of soot.

Would you call me crazy

If I said it like you do?

There is goodness here with no ones’ name

What was once one Church is two.

Why are we divided if

We should just re-agree?

Surely the fear you’re walking on

Is greater than you and me?

Would guilt stop you if I looked you in the eyes?

Or can we just stop this pretense

So I can lower my disguise?

I cannot beg any further,

I can only open my eyes,

I will trust you and love you still,

Even through the lies.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

